Speeding Tickets in New Hampshire
Fighting a Speeding Ticket in New Hampshire
New Hampshire Points – Fines – Reciprocity and Other Issues
Absolute Speed Limits in New Hampshire
Where there are posted speed limits, a driver may not exceed the stated maximum. The posted speed limit may vary depending on the region. In a posted school zone, a driver may not drive at a speed of 10 miles per hour below the usual posted speed limit from 45 minutes before school opening and until 45 minutes after school closing. In a business or urban residence district, a driver may not drive over 30 miles per hour. In a rural residence district or any class V highway outside the compact part of any city or town, the speed limit is 35 miles per hour. On the interstate system, the central New Hampshire turnpike and the eastern New Hampshire turnpike where the highways are 4 or more-lane divided highways, the speed limit is 65 miles per hour. In other locations, the speed limit is 55 miles per hour.
On a portion of a highway where officers are working, drivers may not exceed a speed of 10 miles per hour below the usual posted limit, and in any case no greater than 45 miles per hour.
At a toll booth, a driver whose motor vehicle is equipped with a transponder shall not exceed 25 miles per hour. For drivers who stop at the toll to pay the operator, there is no specific limit, but the driver shall drive at a reasonable speed.
A person driving a motor-driven cycle without a headlamp shall not exceed 35 miles per hour. A person driving a vehicle that is towing a house trial shall not exceed 45 miles per hour.
Presumed Speed Limits in New Hampshire
Even if a driver proceeds at a speed below the posted speed limit, he/she may still be cited for speeding for driving at a rate of speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions and a lack of regard to the actual and potential hazard. Where no hazard exists that requires a lower speed, a speed that does not exceed the posted limit is prima facie evidence that the driver is lawful. Any speed in excess of the posted limit is prima facie evidence that the speed is not reasonable or prudent and is therefore unlawful.
An officer may consider a posted speed limit unreasonable where there is heavy traffic causing other cars to drive at a considerably lower rate, where the road is narrow and/or rough, or when it is rainy, foggy, or snowy. Similarly, there may be individual circumstances, such as a stalled car or collision, necessitating a slower rate of driving. The presence of people attending to their car may create a danger that requires other cars passing by to slow down. It is difficult to determine what a reasonable speed is as it is often subjective. However, where any of the above conditions are present, it is generally expected that drivers behave more cautiously and reduce their speed.
Drivers may also be cited for driving too slowly. It is unlawful for a person to drive at such a slow speed as to impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic regardless of whether a minimum speed sign is posted. On the interstate highway system, the state may post minimum speed limits of 45 miles per hour. However, if conditions are present that make it dangerous or unreasonable to drive above the minimum speed limit, a driver must slow down. For example, if a traffic collision slows down the speed of traffic to 15 miles per hour in a minimum speed limit zone of 30 miles per hour, a driver is not expected to follow the minimum limit. A driver of a slow-moving vehicle on a one lane road must pull over to allow other cars to pass when five or more vehicles are lined up behind him/her.