Speeding Tickets in Oklahoma
Fighting a Speeding Ticket in Oklahoma
Legal Procedures for Speeding in Oklahoma
Oklahoma Points – Fines – Reciprocity and Other Issues
When driving, you should consider all of the conditions that may affect your driving and drive at a speed that is safe under those conditions and leave enough of a following distance in order to stop without running into anyone. Oklahoma’s basic speed rule states that “no motor vehicle shall be driven at a speed greater than is careful and prudent and not greater than or less than is reasonable and proper, having due regard to the traffic, surface and width of the highway and of any other conditions then existing. No personal shall drive any vehicle upon a highway at a speed greater than will permit him to stop within the assured clear distance ahead.” Thus, you must use good judgment and skill to determine what speed is careful and prudent. Further, your speed should be reasonable and proper (not too fast or too slow), given the current conditions. These conditions may include factors such as the amount of traffic, weather conditions, visibility, the presence of pedestrians, road construction etc. You should not drive too slowly thus interfering with other vehicles traveling at a normal speed and you should adjust your speed based on changing conditions so that you have a safe following distance.
If you are convicted of speeding, the maximum penalty for violating the Basic Speed Rule is $394.90 and you may be sentenced to up to thirty days in jail. Fines may be doubled if you were speeding in a school or construction zone.
Absolute Speed Limits in Oklahoma
Most states, including Oklahoma, follow the Uniform Vehicle Code, which sets absolute speed limits. When a driver is prosecuted for exceeding the absolute speed limit, it is per se illegal, regardless of whether you were driving safely or not. Driving even one mile per hour over the posted speed limit is illegal. Oklahoma’s absolute speed limit is 75 miles per hour on turnpikes, 70 miles per hour on four-lane divided highways and super two-lane highways, and 65 miles per hour on two-lane highways. The speed limit is 25 miles per hour in a school zone.
Presumed Speed Limits in Oklahoma
If you are charged with violating a presumed speed limit, the burden falls upon you to prove that you were going at a safe speed given the traffic and road conditions. This is because in a presumed speed limit state, you are presumed to be breaking the law if you are driving at a speed above the posted speed limit. In Oklahoma, the law states “no motor vehicle shall be driven at a speed greater than is careful and prudent and not greater than or less than is reasonable and proper, having due regard to the traffic, surface and width of the highway and of any other conditions then existing. No personal shall drive any vehicle upon a highway at a speed greater than will permit him to stop within the assured clear distance ahead.” In Oklahoma, this is called the Basic Speed Rule. The Basic Speed Rule does not set an exact speed limits, however, your speed is limited depending on what is a safe speed given the current conditions.