Speeding Tickets in Tennessee
Fighting a Speeding Ticket in Tennessee
Tennessee Points – Fines – Reciprocity and Other Issues
Tennessee’s speed law is governed by an absolute speed law. This means that someone can be ticketed and found guilty if they are found just driving one mile per hour over the posted speed limit allowed. The posted speed limit will depend upon the location in which a motorist is driving. The absolute maximum speed limit for all motor vehicles in Tennessee is 70 miles per hour, and this is reserved solely for four lane controlled-access highways and the interstates. The state has also set maximum speed limits for other types of roadways. Those speed limits are:
- 65 miles per hour on highways and public roads
- 55 miles per hours on highways and public roads under that are not under the state highway system or interstate but under municipalities or counties
- 15 miles per hour in school zones
Additional Special Speed Limitations
There are also additional special speed limitations, including:
- Motor cycles must not exceed 35 miles per hour at any time, unless it s equipped with heal lamp that with reveal a person or vehicle at a distance of 300 feet ahead
- No person can drive any motor vehicle with rubber or cushion tires at a speed greater than 10 miles per hour
- No person can drive over a bridge or another elevated structure at a speed that is greater than the maximum speed which the bridge or elevated structure can maintain with safety
Minimum Speed Limit in Tennessee
A motorist in Tennessee must not exceed the speed limit, nor shall they drive too slow either. A person can violate the state traffic law by driving “at such a slow speed as to impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic.” The only acceptable excuses for when someone is driving too slowly is when it is necessary for safety reasons or for compliance with the law. The department of transportation also has the authority to designate minimum speed limits.
Passing a Vehicle in Tennessee
In instances where a person is driving a truck or a slow-moving vehicle atop or near atop a hill, turnout, passing bay, or parking area near to the right or and lane of any state or federal highway , the driver of the truck or slow-moving vehicle must pull over and allow faster-moving vehicles to pass.
It is not allowed by law for a driver to temporarily exceed the speed limit to pass a motor vehicle that is traveling below the speed limit or the minimum speed limit.
Speed Limit for Commercial Vehicles in Tennessee
Some states set separate speed limits for commercial vehicles, or “trucks.” This is not true for Tennessee. The speed limits set by the state include all types of motor vehicles, whether private motorists or commercial vehicle operators. The point deduction system for violations differs slightly for private and commercial vehicles.
Elements of a Speeding Charge in Tennessee
A speeding charge has elements that must be proven for a case to go forward and to find someone guilty of the offense. These elements are requirements that must be proven by the prosecution. The elements are identity, operation, vehicle, and that driver was driving at the specific speed indicated by law enforcement. Identity means that the defendant being charged with speeding must have been the driver who was operating the motor vehicle at the time of the speeding offense. Additionally, the vehicle that was pulled over must be the same vehicle that was witnessed by law enforcement as speeding. Finally, the speed recorded by law enforcement must be accurate information and the speed alleged must have been over the speed limit or otherwise in violation of the law.
The prosecution has the burden of proving all of the elements of a speeding charge and they must prove all of the elements beyond a reasonable doubt. If they failing in proving even a single one of these elements beyond a reasonable doubt, then the speeding case cannot move forward and the defendant cannot be convicted of speeding.